Sacha Giffa

Former French professional basketball player
Bronze medal at the European championship in
Assisting coach in Paris Levallois

 

In the 90’s, project kids were only crazy about football. Tell us how you discovered basketball.
I had a lot of friends in Sarcelles, Garges, and the area. I played football. My icons were Roger Milla, Yannick Noah, etc. Than in my preteen years came along a friend who was often tra- velling to the United States. He would show us video tapes of basketball players and I loved it right away. I wanted to be like one of the Chicago Bulls stars, like Jordan, and make amazing performances. I became a “gym rat”: I would hang out at the gym every day and trained until it closed.

How did you join the Levallois club?

It happened when I was about 15, during a discovery training course. I was curious and fearless. Moustapha Sankho was ri- sing and he was an example for kids like me. Pretty soon, from “Cadet” I became “Espoir”. Like Joakim Noah and Tony Par- ker, I had the opportunity to be coached by a successful Ameri- can basketball player who meant a great deal to my career: Ron Stewart. This man inspired important values to the kids we were: the sense of effort, observation, the rage to win, personal and collective work. All of us who followed his teachings had beautiful careers. We would stop at nothing. As long as the final whistle hadn’t been blown, you could expect anything from us. That is why they called us the “Cardiaques Kids”.

The last medal for the French team was at the European Basketball Championship in 1959. But you won the bronze medal in 2005. What do you think was the key to success?
Of course, there is always a lot of work behind a victory. But our state of mind meant a lot. I believe that our brotherly and respectful spirit has marked us for life. We did everything together: emulation, support, and lots and lots of talking. When you watch Tony Parker or Boris Diaw, to name the most famous ones, you see this spirit of generosity. We have all developed this spirit inside us.

How did you become a coach?
First there was a major injury in 2005. I learned to walk again, then run and jump. Simultaneously, a new American management method based on statistics and such completely changed the framework I was working in. It felt like we were focusing on humans again. I played in the clubs of Pau, Strasbourg, Fos, Chalon, then Denain. There, I found frameworks that really fit me.
When I turned 40, I did a coach training because I still really needed to share. So when the Levallois Sporting Club contacted me to become an assisting coach I was so glad to come back to the club where it all began for me. I got encouragement calls from my colleagues who had been there.

Tell us how you see basketball today.
In basketball in general, we are constantly helped: with the statistics tools, the body specialist who prevent players from working, while back in the days, we would play despite our minor injuries, and the omnipresent video tools. Everything is made to supervise players with outside elements. My role is to make a connection between the game and these elements that shouldn’t break your will. In terms of relations between players, in my generation, we would all go out together after practice. Newbies often go their own way, they are super-connected, they analyze Facebook, Snap, Instagram… You can feel it in the field. In my club, we are all about people first. We are doing quite good and our boys are doing great: 60% changes and two players in the French national team (Vincent Poirier and Louis Labeyrie). Finally, if you want to win, you need to work on your spirit and be generous!

By Médina KONÉ

Posts created 108

Leave a Reply

Related Posts

Begin typing your search term above and press enter to search. Press ESC to cancel.

Back To Top

Sacha Giffa

ancien joueur de basket professionnel français,
médaille de bronze au championnat d’Europe 2005,
assistant coach à Paris Levallois

Durant les années 90, le foot était le sport favori des gamins de banlieue. Parlez-nous de votre découverte du basket.
J’avais beaucoup de copains à Sarcelles, Garges et environs. Je jouais au foot, mes idoles étaient Roger Milla, Yannick Noah etc. Puis à la préadolescence est arrivé un copain qui avait la chance de faire des allers/retours aux Etats-Unis. Il nous montrait des cassettes vidéo de basketteurs et j’ai accroché tout de suite. Je voulais faire comme les stars des Chicago Bulls, comme Jordan, être capable de faire des performances spectaculaires. Je suis devenu un “rat de gymnase” : trainant au gymnase tous les jours et m’entrainant jusqu’à la fermeture.

Comment avez-vous intégré le club de Levallois ?
Cela s’est passé à mes 15 ans environ, lors de leur stage de dé­couverte. J’étais curieux, sans crainte. Moustapha Sankho émer­geait et montrait l’exemple aux petits comme moi. Assez vite, de “Cadet”, je suis devenu “Espoir”. À l’instar de Joakim Noah et Tony Parker, j’ai eu la chance d’être coaché par un basketteur américain emblématique qui a beaucoup compté dans ma car­rière : Ron Stewart. Cet homme a insufflé de grandes valeurs aux gamins que nous étions : le sens de l’effort, l’observation, la rage de gagner, le travail personnel et collectif. Tous ceux qui ont suivi ses enseignements ont eu une belle carrière profession­nelle. On ne lâchait rien. Tant que le coup de sifflet final n’avait pas retenti, il fallait s’attendre à tout de notre part. Cela nous a valu le surnom « les cardiaques kids ».

La dernière médaille de l’équipe de France au Champion­nat d’Europe de Basket date de 1959. Or, vous remportez la médaille de bronze en 2005. Quelle a été la recette du succès selon vous ?
Bien sûr, il y a énormément de travail derrière une victoire. Mais l’état d’esprit y a joué pour beaucoup. Je crois que notre esprit fraternel et respectueux nous a marqué à vie. On faisait tout ensemble, l’émulation, le soutien et beaucoup, beaucoup, beaucoup de discussions. Quand vous regardez Tony Parker ou Boris Diaw, pour les plus connus, vous voyez qu’il y a un esprit de générosité. Nous avons tous développé cela en nous.

Comment êtes-vous devenu coach ?
Il y a d’abord eu une énorme blessure en 2005. J’ai réappris à marcher, puis courir et sauter. Parallèlement, une nouvelle méthode de management à l’américaine passant par des sta­tistiques et autres outils a bouleversé le cadre dans lequel j’évoluais. Le retour à l’humain se faisant sentir, j’ai joué dans les clubs de Pau, Strasbourg, Fos, Chalon, puis Denain. Là, j’y trouvais des espaces qui me correspondaient mieux.
Arrivé à la quarantaine, j’ai suivi une formation de coach car j’ai toujours une soif de partage. Alors quand le Levallois Spor­ting Club m’a contacté pour devenir assistant coach, j’étais fou de joie de revenir au club où tout a commencé pour moi. J’ai reçu des appels d’encouragement de mes comparses qui sont passés par là.

Parlez-nous de votre vision du basket d’aujourd’hui.
Dans le basket en général, les aides sont omniprésentes dé­sormais. Entre les outils statistiques, les spécialistes du corps qui arrêtent les joueurs alors qu’à notre époque nous jouions malgré les blessures légères et les outils vidéo omniprésents, tout est fait pour encadrer le joueur avec des éléments exté­rieurs. Mon rôle est de faire le lien entre leur esprit dans le jeu et ces éléments qui ne doivent pas fragiliser la volonté… Au niveau des relations entre joueurs, ma génération connaissait les virées en groupe après les entraînements. Les nouveaux re­partent souvent chacun dans leur coin et sont hyper-connec­tés, analysant les Facebook, Snap, Instagram… Sur le terrain, cela se ressent. Dans mon club, nous jouons la carte de l’hu­main d’abord. Nous ne nous en sortons pas trop mal lorsque l’on voit que nos jeunes évoluent bien : 60 % de changements et deux joueurs en équipe de France (Vincent Poirier et Louis Labeyrie). Pour finir, pour trouver la victoire, il faut travailler avec son esprit et être généreux !

 

By Médina KONÉ

Posts created 108

Laisser un commentaire

Articles similaires

Commencez à saisir votre recherche ci-dessus et pressez Entrée pour rechercher. ESC pour annuler.

Retour en haut